Sveriges 100 mest populära podcasts

Sound Opinions

Sound Opinions

Take two nationally respected rock critics, the latest music news, personal commentary, and exclusive interviews and performances, add a huge pile of records old and new, and the result is Sound Opinions, where people who love music can come together.

Prenumerera

iTunes / Overcast / RSS

Webbplats

soundopinions.org

Avsnitt

Video Game Music, Opinions on Rina Sawayama & Brian Eno

Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot explore the expansive world of video game soundtracks. They chat with Los Angeles Times critic Todd Martens about the innovative ways video game music is exciting listeners and enhancing gaming interactivity. They?ll also review new albums by Rina Sawayama and Brian Eno, and hear messages from Sound Opinions listeners.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Junebug & Ben Babbitt, "Too Late to Love You," Kentucky Route Zero (Original Soundtrack), Annapurna Interactive, 2020

Rina Sawayama, "This Hell," Hold The Girl, Dirty Hit, 2022

Rina Sawayama, "Frankenstein," Hold The Girl, Dirty Hit, 2022

Rina Sawayama, "Hold The Girl," Hold The Girl, Dirty Hit, 2022

Rina Sawayama, "Send My Love To John," Hold The Girl, Dirty Hit, 2022

Rina Sawayama, "Forgiveness," Hold The Girl, Dirty Hit, 2022

Brian Eno, "Who Gives a Thought," Foreverandevernomore, Verve, 2022

Brian Eno, "Garden of Stars," Foreverandevernomore, Verve, 2022

Brian Eno, "We Let It In," Foreverandevernomore, Verve, 2022

Jim Guthrie, "Lone Star," Sword & Sworcery LP - The Ballad of the Space Babies, Dark Flute, 2011

Tycho, "Send and Receive," Hohokum (Original Game Soundtrack), Ghostly International, 2004

Robyn Miller, "Myst Theme," Myst - The Soundtrack, Cyan, 1995

Austin Wintory, "I Was Born for This," Journey (Original Video Game Soundtrack), Sony, 2012

OFK, "Follow/Unfollow," Follow/Unfollow (Single), Teddy Dieff, 2021

Daniel Olsén & Jonathan Eng, "Dead of Night (feat. Linnea Olsson)," Sayonara Wild Hearts, Simogo AB, 2019

Melissa Carper, "Makin' Memories," Daddy's Country Gold, Melissa Carper/Mae Music, 2021

Fantastic Negrito, "Oh Betty," White Jesus Black Problems, Storefront, 2022

Teen Mortgage, "S.W.A.S.," Life/Death, King Pizza, 2019

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, "The Mercy Seat," Tender Prey, Mute, 1988

Dead Man's Bones, "Pa Pa Power," Dead Man's Bones, Anti Inc., 2009

Scorpions, "In Search of the Peace of Mind," Lonesome Crow, Brain, 1972

The Who, "Sea and Sand," Quadrophenia, Track, 1973

NNAMDÏ, "I Don't Wanna Be Famous," Please Have a Seat, Secretly Canadian, 2022

2022-11-11
Länk till avsnitt

Representing Tulsa in Song

In this bonus episode, Greg adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox from a band that always represented their hometown of Tulsa, Oklahoma. 

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-11-09
Länk till avsnitt

Superchunk Live, RIP Jerry Lee Lewis

Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot are joined by indie rock stalwarts Superchunk for a live performance and interview at the Goose Island Tap Room in Chicago. The hosts also pay tribute to Jerry Lee Lewis.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Superchunk, "Endless Summer," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022

Jerry Lee Lewis, "Great Balls of Fire," Great Balls of Fire (Single), Sun, 1957

Jerry Lee Lewis and the Nashville Teens, "Good Golly, Miss Molly (Live 1964)," Live at the Star Club, Hamburg, Philips, 1964

Jerry Lee Lewis, "Middle Age Crazy," Country Memories, Mercury, 1977

Superchunk, "This Night," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022

Superchunk, "Wild Loneliness," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022

Superchunk, "City of the Dead," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022

Superchunk, "Endless Summer (Live on Sound Opinions)," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022

Superchunk, "If You're Not Dark," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022

Superchunk, "Learned to Surf (Live on Sound Opinions)," Majesty Shredding, Merge, 2010

2022-11-04
Länk till avsnitt

Songs About Frankenstein

In this bonus episode, Jim adds his favorite song about Frankenstein to the Desert Island Jukebox.

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-11-02
Länk till avsnitt

Jimmy Jam on Working with Janet Jackson, Prince & More

Since the 1980s, producers and songwriters Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis have made huge hits with artists like Janet Jackson, Boyz II Men and Mariah Carey. But finally in 2021, the duo released their debut album as artists. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot chat with Jimmy Jam about the record and his illustrious past work. Plus, we hear the song that got Garbage's Shirley Manson Hooked on Sonics.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Jam & Lewis, "Spinnin (feat. Mary J. Blige)," Jam & Lewis, Volume One, Flyte Tyme, BMG, 2021

Jam & Lewis, "Somewhat Loved (There You Go Breakin' My Heart) (feat. Mariah Carey)," Jam & Lewis, Volume One, Flyte Tyme, BMG, 2021

Janet Jackson, "What Have You Done for Me Lately," Control, A&M, 1986

Jam & Lewis, "The Next Best Day (feat. Boyz II Men)," Jam & Lewis, Volume One, Flyte Tyme, BMG, 2021

The S.O.S. Band, "Tell Me If You Still Care," On the Rise, Tabu/Epic, 1983

Cornbread Harris and Friends, "PutThe World," Cornbread Supreme Volume 1, 2631577 Records DK, 2002

Janet Jackson, "Control," Control, A&M, 1986

The S.O.S. Band, "Just Be Good to Me," On the Rise, Tabu/Epic, 1983

Jam & Lewis, "Happily Unhappy (feat. Toni Braxton)," Jam & Lewis, Volume One, Flyte Tyme, BMG, 2021

New Edition, "Can You Stand the Rain," Heart Break, MCA, 1987

Janet Jackson, "Nasty," Control, A&M, 1986

The S.O.S. Band, "Take Your Time (Do It Right)," SOS, Tabu, 1980

Janet Jackson, "Miss You Much," Janet Jackson's Rhythm Nation 1814, A&M, 1989

Chaka Khan, "Angel," Funk This, Burgundy, 2007

Garbage, "No Gods No Masters," No Gods No Masters, Infectious Music, 2021

Stray Cats, "Stray Cat Strut," Stray Cats, Arista, 1981

Superchunk, "Endless Summer," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022

2022-10-28
Länk till avsnitt

Correcting the Record

In this bonus episode Jim adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox in response to a Patron's complaint about giving a legendary band short shrift. 

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-10-26
Länk till avsnitt

Pearl Jam's Long Road, Opinions on Björk & the Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot talk with music critic Steven Hyden about his new book on Pearl Jam. They recount the group?s quixotic attempt to fight Ticketmaster at the height of their fame and how they?ve maintained their career since. Jim and Greg also review new albums by Björk and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Pearl Jam, "Even Flow," Ten, Epic, 1991

Björk, "Atopos (feat. Kasimyn)," Fossora, One Little Independent, 2022

Björk, "Fossora (feat. Kasimyn)," Fossora, One Little Independent, 2022

Björk, "Sorrowful Soil," Fossora, One Little Independent, 2022

Björk, "Mycelia," Fossora, One Little Independent, 2022

Yeah Yeah Yeahs, "Wolf," Cool It Down, Secretly Canadian, 2022

Yeah Yeah Yeahs, "Spitting Off the Edge of the World," Cool It Down, Secretly Canadian, 2022

Yeah Yeah Yeahs, "Different Today," Cool It Down, Secretly Canadian, 2022

Yeah Yeah Yeahs, "Fleez," Cool It Down, Secretly Canadian, 2022

Pearl Jam, "Jeremy," Ten, Epic, 1991

Pearl Jam, "Alive," Ten, Epic, 1991

Pearl Jam, "Porch (Live at Lollapalooza 92)," Ten, Epic, 1991

Pearl Jam, "Rearviewmirror," Vs., Epic, 1993

Pearl Jam, "Better Man," Vitalogy, Epic, 1994

Pearl Jam, "All Those Yesterdays," Yield, Epic, 1998

Pearl Jam, "Yellow Ledbetter," Jeremy (Single), Epic, 1992

Neil Young and Pearl Jam , "Rockin in the Free World (Live at the MTV Video Music Awards 93)," Freedom, Reprise, 1989

Pearl Jam, "Release (Live in Chicago 2013)," Ten, Epic, 1991

Pearl Jam, "Even Flow (Live in Chicago 2013)," Ten, Epic, 1991

Mary J. Blige, "No More Drama," No More Drama, MCA, 2001

2022-10-21
Länk till avsnitt

The Second Hardest Working Band in the Midwest

In this bonus episode, Jim adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox that celebrates musicians with a work ethic strong enough to give a great performance no matter how big or small the gig.

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-10-19
Länk till avsnitt

John Carpenter & Spooky Movie Music

It?s that time of year again?spooky season! Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot revisit their conversation with horror writer, director and composer John Carpenter. Then, they share their favorite spooky movie music.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

John Carpenter, "Halloween Theme - Main Title," Halloween (Original 1978 Motion Picture Soundtrack), Columbia, 1979

John Carpenter, "The Shape Stalks," Halloween (Original 1978 Motion Picture Soundtrack), Columbia, 1979

Bebe Barron and Louis Barron, "Forbidden Planet Soundtrack - a) Main Titles - Overture - b) Giant Footprints In The Sand," Forbidden Planet, Planet, 1976

Bernard Herrmann, Joel McNeely & Royal Scottish Orchestra, "Scotty Trails Madeline (Including: Madeline's First Appearance, Madeline's Car, The Flower Shop, The Alleyway, The Mission, Graveyard, and Tombstone)," Vertigo: Original Motion Picture Score, Varèse Sarabande, 1995

John Carpenter, "Dark Star," Anthology: Movie Themes 1974-1998, Rodeo Suplex, 2017

John Carpenter, "Skeleton," Lost Themes III: Life After Death, Sacred Bones, 2021

Dimitri Tiomkin, "High Noon - Theme," Movie Memories: Music from the Greatest Films, Colosseum, 1995

John Carpenter, "Dead Eyes," Lost Themes III: Life After Death, Sacred Bones, 2021

Frankie Valli, "The Sun Ain't Gonna Shine (Anymore)," The 4 Seasons Present Frankie Valli Solo, Philips, 1967

Goblin, "Suspiria," Suspiria: The Complete Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, Cinevox, 1977

Childish Gambino, "Redbone," "Awaken, My Love!", Glassnote, 2016

Tobe Hooper and Wayne Bell, "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre," The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, N/A, 1974

Magnet, "Willow's Song," The Wicker Man, Trunk, 1998

David Lynch and Peter Ivers, "In Heaven (Lady in the Radiator Song)," Eraserhead: Original Soundtrack, I.R.S., 1982

Luniz, "I Got 5 On It (feat. Michael Marshall)," Operation Stackola, C Note, 1995

Mike Oldfield, "Tubular Bells, Part One," Tubular Bells, Virgin, 1973

Tangerine Dream, "Rain In the Third House," Near Dark (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), Varèse Sarabande, 1987

Colin Newman, "Alone," A-Z, Beggars Banquet, 1980

Krzysztof Komeda, "Main Title," Rosemary's Baby (Music from the Original Motion Picture Score), Dot, 1968

Bauhaus, "Bela Lugosi's Dead," Press the Eject and Give Me the Tape, Beggars Banquet, 1982

Philip Glass, "Helen's Theme," Candyman (Original 1992 Motion Picture Soundtrack), One Way Static, 2014

Pearl Jam, "Yellow Ledbetter," Lost Dogs, Epic, 2003

2022-10-14
Länk till avsnitt

A Tribute to Loretta Lynn

In this bonus episode, Greg pays tribute to country great Loretta Lynn.

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-10-12
Länk till avsnitt

Kurt Vile Live at the Goose Island Brewhouse, Opinions on Amanda Shires & Nova Twins

Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot are joined by singer-songwriter Kurt Vile and a roomful of fans for a live performance and interview at the Goose Island Brew House in Chicago. The hosts also review new albums by Amanda Shires and Nova Twins.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Kurt Vile, "Wakin on a Pretty Day," Wakin on a Pretty Day, Matador, 2013

Amanda Shires, "Take It Like a Man," Take It Like a Man, ATO, 2022

Amanda Shires, "My Own Galaxy," Take It Like a Man, ATO, 2022

Amanda Shires, "Hawk For The Dove," Take It Like a Man, ATO, 2022

Amanda Shires, "Don't Be Alarmed," Take It Like a Man, ATO, 2022

Nova Twins, "K.M.B.," Supernova, Marshall Amplification Plc and Nova Twins Ltd, 2022

Nova Twins, "Cleopatra," Supernova, Marshall Amplification Plc and Nova Twins Ltd, 2022

Nova Twins, "Antagonist," Supernova, Marshall Amplification Plc and Nova Twins Ltd, 2022

Kurt Vile, "Pretty Pimpin'," B'lieve I'm Goin Down..., Matador, 2015

The Sadies, "It's Easy (Like Walking) (feat. Kurt Vile)," Northern Passages, Yep Roc, 2017

Kurt Vile, "Mount Airy Hill (Way Gone) (Live on Sound Opinions)," (watch my moves), Verve, 2022

Kurt Vile, "Freeway," Constant Hitmaker, Gulcher, 2008

Kurt Vile, "Flyin (Like a Fast Train) (Live on Sound Opinions)," (watch my moves), Verve, 2022

Kurt Vile, "Like Exploding Stones," (watch my moves), Verve, 2022

Kurt Vile, "Goin on a Plane Today," (watch my moves), Verve, 2022

Kurt Vile, "Wages of Sin," (watch my moves), Verve, 2022

Kurt Vile, "Pretty Pimpin' (Live on Sound Opinions)," B'lieve I'm Goin Down..., Matador, 2015

John Carpenter, "Halloween Theme - Main Title," Halloween (Original 1978 Motion Picture Soundtrack), Columbia, 1979

2022-10-07
Länk till avsnitt

One of the Best Songs from the 2000s

In this bonus episode, Greg adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox that he says, on certain days, would be in his top three songs released since 2000. 

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-10-05
Länk till avsnitt

Buried Treasures!

As often as possible, hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot love to share new, exciting, under-the-radar music. This week, they?ve got a brand new batch of buried treasures. They?ll also hear some selections from the production staff and play messages from listeners.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Cari Cari, "Last Days On Earth," Welcome To Kookoo Island, perla nera, 2022

Say She She, "Pink Roses," Prism, Karma Chief, 2022

Ibibio Sound Machine, "Protection From Evil," Electricity, Merge, 2022

Timothy Bailey & the Humans, "Great Man Singing," Timothy Bailey & the Humans, N/A, 2022

Off Peak Arson, "Vivid," Vivid (Single), 3131749 Records DK, 2022

Lev UFO, "Again!," Again! (Single), LevUFOrever Galactic, 2022

Brittany Davis, "I Choose to Live," I Choose to Live (EP), Loosegroove, 2022

Shannon & The Clams, "Year Of The Spider," Year Of The Spider, Easy Eye, 2021

Lifeguard, "I know I know," I know I know (Single), Born Yesterday, 2022

Polyphia, "Playing God," Playing God (Single), Rise, 2022

CMAT, "I Wanna Be a Cowboy, Baby!," If My Wife New I'd Be Dead, AWAL, 2022

Jake Blount, "Didn't It Rain," The New Faith, Smithsonian Folkways, 2022

Korean Boyfriend, "Millions of Reasons," Yellow, Flowers, 2022

Big Joanie, "In My Arms," Back Home, Kill Rock Stars, 2022

Oneida, "Beat Me to the Punch," Success, Joyful Noise, 2022

Pale Blue Eyes, "Star Vehicle," Souvenirs, Full Time Hobby, 2022

Idles, "Danny Nedelko," Joy as an Act of Resistance, Partisan, 2018

Jimmie Anderson, "Hero," Hero (Single), Jimmie Anderson, 2018

MUNA, "Silk Chiffon (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)," Muna, Saddest Factory and Dead Oceans, 2022

Pedro the Lion, "First Drum Set (Live on Sound Opinions)," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022

Kurt Vile, "Like Exploding Stones," (watch my moves), Verve, 2022

2022-09-30
Länk till avsnitt

A Tribute to Anton Fier

In this bonus episode, Jim pays tribute to drummer Anton Fier by adding a song to the Desert Island Jukebox and sharing two life lessons he learned from interacting with Fier.

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-09-28
Länk till avsnitt

Women in Country Music, Opinions on Santigold & Sudan Archives

Author Marissa Moss's new book "Her Country" details the challenges the country music industry puts before female artists. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot talk with Moss about three artists who've succeeded in spite of the obstacles. Plus, they review new albums from Santigold and Sudan Archives and hear feedback from listeners.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Kacey Musgraves, "Merry Go 'Round," Same Trailer Different Park, Mercury Nashville, 2013

Santigold, "High Priestess," Spirituals, Little Jerk, 2022

Santigold, "Fall First," Spirituals, Little Jerk, 2022

Santigold, "No Paradise," Spirituals, Little Jerk, 2022

Santigold, "Shake," Spirituals, Little Jerk, 2022

Sudan Archives, "Selfish Soul," Natural Brown Prom Queen, Stones Throw, 2022

Sudan Archives, "Ciara," Natural Brown Prom Queen, Stones Throw, 2022

Sudan Archives, "OMG Britt," Natural Brown Prom Queen, Stones Throw, 2022

Sudan Archives, "ChevyS10," Natural Brown Prom Queen, Stones Throw, 2022

Sudan Archives, "NBPQ (Topless)," Natural Brown Prom Queen, Stones Throw, 2022

Mickey Guyton, "Black Like Me," Remember Her Name, Capitol Nashville, 2021

Maren Morris, "My Church," HERO, Columbia Nashville, 2016

The Highwomen, "Loose Change," The Highwomen, Elektra, 2019

Mickey Guyton, "What Are You Gonna Tell Her?," Remember Her Name, Capitol Nashville, 2021

Kacey Musgraves, "Good Ol' Boys Club," Pageant Material , Mercury Nashville, 2015

Boogie Down Productions, "Jack of Spades," Ghetto Music: The Blueprint of Hip Hop, Jive/RCA, 1989

Sinéad Lohan, "Diving to be Deeper," No Mermaid, Interscope, 1998

Off Peak Arson, "Vivid," Vivid (Single), 3131749 Records DK, 2022

2022-09-23
Länk till avsnitt

A Canadian Euro-disco Song Bridging the 80s and 90s Sounds

In this bonus episode, Jim shares a song from a forgotten Canadian act that he recently heard in the German TV show, Kleo.

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

 

2022-09-21
Länk till avsnitt

Common's Like Water for Chocolate

Over 20 years later, Common?s album Like Water for Chocolate remains a socially conscious, hip hop masterpiece. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot revisit an interview they did with Common during this time, plus they talk about the music, production history and lasting impact.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Common, "The Light," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000

Common, "Time Travelin' (A Tribute to Fela)," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000

Common, "Take It EZ," Can I Borrow a Dollar?, Relativity, 1992

Common, "I Used to Love H.E.R.," Resurrection, Relativity, 1994

D'Angelo, "Brown Sugar," Brown Sugar, Virgin, 1995

Common, "Funky for You," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000

Common, "A Song for Assata," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000

Common, "Payback Is a Grandmother," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000

Common, "The 6th Sense," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000

Common, "Thelonius," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000

Common, "Geto Heaven, Pt. 2 (Remix T.S.O.I.) [feat. Macy Gray]," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000

Common, "A Film Called (Pimp)," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000

Kanye West, "We Don't Care," The College Dropout, Roc-A-Fella, 2004

Kendrick Lamar, "Institutionalized (feat. Bilal, Anna Wise & Snoop Dogg)," To Pimp a Butterfly, Top Dawg Entertainment, 2015

Kacey Musgraves, "justified," Star-Crossed, MCA Nashville, 2021

2022-09-16
Länk till avsnitt

A Tribute to Joey DeFrancesco

In this bonus episode, Greg pays tribute to the jazz organist Joey DeFrancesco, who died on August 25, 2022.

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-09-14
Länk till avsnitt

Pedro the Lion Live, Opinions on Horsegirl & Julia Jacklin

This week hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot welcome Pedro The Lion to the Goose Island Tap Room in Chicago for a live performance and interview. David Bazan recently brought back the Pedro The Lion band name for a five album cycle about each of the places he lived while growing up. The second installment, Havasu, came out earlier this year. Plus Jim and Greg review new albums from Horsegirl and Julia Jacklin.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Pedro the Lion, "First Drum Set," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022

Horsegirl, "Billy," Versions of Modern Performance, Matador, 2022

Horsegirl, "Live and Ski," Versions of Modern Performance, Matador, 2022

Horsegirl, "Anti-glory," Versions of Modern Performance, Matador, 2022

Horsegirl, "Homage to Birdnoculars," Versions of Modern Performance, Matador, 2022

Julia Jacklin, "Ignore Tenderness," Pre Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022

Julia Jacklin, "I Was Neon," Pre Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022

Julia Jacklin, "Too In Love To Die," Pre Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022

Julia Jacklin, "End of Friendship," Pre Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022

Julia Jacklin, "Be Careful With Yourself," Pre Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022

Pedro the Lion, "Foregone Conclusions," Achilles Heel, Jade Tree, 2004

Pedro the Lion, "Don't Wanna Move (Live on Sound Opinions)," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022

Pedro the Lion, "Magazine," Control, Jade Tree, 2002

Pedro the Lion, "First Drum Set (Live on Sound Opinions)," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022

Pedro the Lion, "Teenage Sequencer," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022

Pedro the Lion, "Making the Most of It (Live on Sound Opinions)," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022

Common, "Time Travelin' (A Tribute to Fela)," Like Water For Chocolate, MCA, 2000

2022-09-09
Länk till avsnitt

The true origins of grunge?

In this bonus episode, Jim adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox that he learned about from this article in Bust magazine

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-09-07
Länk till avsnitt

Phoebe Bridgers Live & Songs About the Sea

This week, hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot share some of their favorite songs about oceans, lakes and rivers. Plus, we revisit a conversation and live performance at the Goose Island Tap Room in Chicago with singer-songwriter Phoebe Bridgers.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Neil Young, "I'm the Ocean," Mirror Ball, Reprise, 1995

Phoebe Bridgers, "Smoke Signals," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017

Enya, "Orinoco Flow," Watermark, Warner Music, 1988

Led Zeppelin, "The Ocean," Houses of the Holy, Atlantic, 1973

Frank Ocean, "Moon River," Moon River (Single), Boys Don't Cry, 2018

Nova Mob, "Admiral of the Sea," The Last Days of Pompeii, Rough Trade, 1991

The Beach Boys, "Sail On, Sailor," Holland, Reprise, 1973

The Velvet Underground, "Ocean," VU, Verve, 1985

Procol Harum, "A Salty Dog," A Salty Dog, Regal Zonophone, A&M, 1969

Otis Redding, "(Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay," The Dock of the Bay, Volt, 1968

PJ Harvey, "Down By The Water," To Bring You My Love, Direct Brands, 1995

Talking Heads, "Take Me to the River," More Songs About Buildings and Food, Sire, 1978

Phoebe Bridgers, "Motion Sickness," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017

Phoebe Bridgers, "Scott Street (Live on Sound Opinions)," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017

Phoebe Bridgers, "Funeral," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017

Phoebe Bridgers, "Chelsea," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017

Phoebe Bridgers, "Steamroller," Killer, Pax Am, 2015

Phoebe Bridgers, "Demi Moore," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017

Phoebe Bridgers, "Killer," Killer, Pax Am, 2015

Phoebe Bridgers, "You Missed My Heart," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017

Phoebe Bridgers, "Smoke Signals (Live on Sound Opinions)," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017

Pedro the Lion, "First Drum Set," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022

2022-09-02
Länk till avsnitt

A Behind The Scenes Motown Great

In this bonus episode, Greg pays tribute to Lamont Dozier, who co-wrote many of Motown's biggest hits. 

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-08-31
Länk till avsnitt

Talking Heads & Tom Tom Club Drummer Chris Frantz

This week, hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot revisit their conversation with Talking Heads and Tom Tom Club drummer Chris Frantz. They discuss his memoir, the dynamics of the Talking Heads and working with Brian Eno (ding!) The hosts also share some of their favorite Talking Heads and Tom Tom Club tracks.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Talking Heads, "Once In a Lifetime," Remain in Light, Sire, 1980

Talking Heads, "New Feeling," Talking Heads: 77, Sire, 1977

Talking Heads, "Pyscho Killer," Talking Heads: 77, Sire, 1977

Talking Heads, "Pulled Up," Talking Heads: 77, Sire, 1977

James Brown, "I'll Go Crazy," Live at the Apollo, King, 1963

Talking Heads, "Don't Worry About the Government," Talking Heads: 77, Sire, 1977

Tom Tom Club, "Genius of Love," Tom Tom Club, Sire, 1981

Talking Heads, "And She Was," Little Creatures, Sire, 1985

Talking Heads, "Take Me to the River," More Songs About Buildings and Food, Sire, 1978

Al Green, "Take Me to the River," Al Green Explores Your Mind, Hi, 1974

Talking Heads, "Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On)," Remain in Light, Sire, 1980

Talking Heads, "The Must Be the Place (Naive Melody)," Speaking in Tongues, Sire, 1983

Talking Heads, "I Zimbra," Fear of Music, Sire, 1979

Tom Tom Club, "You Sexy Thing," Dark Sneak Love Action, Sire, 1991

Talking Heads, "Slippery People (Live)," Stop Making Sense , Sire, 1984

Talking Heads, "The Lady Don't Mind," Little Creatures, Sire, 1985

Phoebe Bridgers, "Smoke Signals," Stranger in the Alps, Dead Oceans, 2017

2022-08-26
Länk till avsnitt

A Band That Won't Be Damaged By A Bad Biopic

In this bonus episode, Jim adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox in reaction to a biographical show he recently watched, but did not like. 

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-08-24
Länk till avsnitt

Songs About Heroes, Opinions on Beyoncé & Drive-By Truckers

There have been many great songs about acts of heroism big and small, and in times like these, boy do we need heroes and heroines! Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot share their favorite songs about heroes. They?ll also hear selections from the production team and review the new albums by Beyoncé and Drive-By Truckers.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Bonnie Tyler, "Holding Out for a Hero," Footloose: Original Soundtrack of the Paramount Motion Picture, Columbia, 1984

Beyoncé, "BREAK MY SOUL," Renaissance, Parkwood and Columbia, 2022

Beyoncé, "COZY," Renaissance, Parkwood and Columbia, 2022

Beyoncé, "ALIEN SUPERSTAR," Renaissance, Parkwood and Columbia, 2022

Beyoncé, "THIQUE," Renaissance, Parkwood and Columbia, 2022

Drive-By Truckers, "The Driver," Welcome 2 Club XIII, ATO, 2022

Drive-By Truckers, "Welcome 2 Club XIII," Welcome 2 Club XIII, ATO, 2022

Drive-By Truckers, "Every Single Storied Flameout," Welcome 2 Club XIII, ATO, 2022

Drive-By Truckers, "Wilder Days," Welcome 2 Club XIII, ATO, 2022

Aimee Mann, "Save Me," Magnolia: Music from the Motion Picture, Reprise, 1999

John Lennon, "Working Class Hero," John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band, Apple, 1970

The Impressions, "We're a Winner," We're a Winner, ABC, 1968

The Kinks, "Celluloid Heroes," Everybody's in Show-Biz, RCA Victor, 1972

The Flaming Lips, "Waitin' for a Superman," The Soft Bulletin, Warner Bros., 1999

The Stranglers, "No More Heroes," No More Heroes, United Artists, 1977

ONE OK ROCK, "Save Yourself," Save Yourself (Single), Fueled By Ramen, 2022

Family of the Year, "Hero," Loma Vista, Nettwerk, 2012

Elton John, "I'm Still Standing," Too Low For Zero, Geffen, 1983

Billy Bragg, "There Is Power in a Union," Talking With The Taxman About Poetry, Elektra, 1986

Rhianna, "Umbrella (feat. Jay-Z)," Good Girl Gone Bad, Def Jam, 2007

Natalie Merchant, "Ophelia," Ophelia, Elektra, 1998

David Bowie, ""Heroes"," "Heroes", RCA, 1977

Nas, "Hero (feat. Keri Hilson)," Untitled, Def Jam, 2008

Talking Heads, "Once In A Lifetime," Remain In Light, Sire, 1980

2022-08-19
Länk till avsnitt

Giving Women Who Rock the Spotlight With Director Jessica Hopper

Jim has a conversation with director, writer and producer Jessica Hopper about her four part docuseries on EPIX about Women Who Rock. She also shares some desert island jukebox picks, one highlighting badass bassist Kira Roessler of Black Flag and another giving love to the legendary group Labelle.

 

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-08-17
Länk till avsnitt

Revisiting The Stooges' Fun House

In a Classic Album Dissection, Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot examine The Stooges' Fun House record from 1970. The album brought together garage rock, rhythm and blues and free jazz, setting a template for the punk revolution to come. Stooges guitarist Ron Asheton talks about the album as well as producer Don Gallucci, whose unorthodox studio technique is credited with capturing the singular sound of The Stooges. Plus Greg Kot adds a song by Gene Clark to the Desert Island Jukebox.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

The Stooges, "T.V. Eye," Fun House, Elektra, 1970

The Stooges, "Down On The Street," Fun House, Elektra, 1970

The Stooges, "Loose," Fun House, Elektra, 1970

The Stooges, "Dirt," Fun House, Elektra, 1970

The Stooges, "1970," Fun House, Elektra, 1970

The Stooges, "Fun House," Fun House, Elektra, 1970

The Stooges, "L.A. Blues," Fun House, Elektra, 1970

Iggy Pop, "Dum Dum Boys," The Idiot, RCA, 1977

The Stooges, "I Wanna Be Your Dog," The Stooges, Elektra, 1969

The Stooges, "Not Right," The Stooges, Elektra, 1969

MC5, "Rocket Reducer N.62 (Rama Lama Fa Fa Fa)," Kick Out The James, Elektra, 1969

The Stooges, "No Fun," The Stooges, Elektra, 1969

The Stooges, "Loose (Demo Version)," Fun House (2005 Deluxe Edition), Elektra, 2005

The Stooges, "Slide (Slidin' The Blues)," Fun House (2005 Deluxe Edition), Elektra, 2005

Bread, "It Don't Matter to Me," Bread, Elektra, 1969

The Kingsmen, "Louie Louie," The Kingsmen In Person, Wand, 1963

The Stooges, "T.V. Eye (Takes 7 & 8)," Fun House (2005 Deluxe Edition), Elektra, 2005

The Stooges, "1970 (Take 3)," Fun House (2005 Deluxe Edition), Elektra, 2005

Iggy and The Stooges, "Louie Louie (Live)," Metallic K.O., Jungle, 1976

James Brown & The Famous Flames, "I Feel All Right (Live 1967)," Live at the Apollo, Vol. II, Polydor, 1968

John Coltrane, "A Love Supreme Pt 2 Resolution," A Love Supreme, Impulse!, 1965

The Doors, "Touch Me," The Soft Parade, Elektra, 1969

The Stooges, "1969," The Stooges, Elektra, 1969

Sonic Youth, "Kool Thing," Goo, DGC, 1990

Minutemen, "Maybe Partying Will Help," Double Nickels On The Dime, SST, 1984

Mission of Burma, "The Ballad of Johnny Burma," Vs., Ace of Hearts, 1982

Depeche Mode, "Dirt," Exciter, Mute, 2001

The Damned, "I Feel Alright," Damned Damned Damned, Stiff, 1977

Radio Birdman, "T.V. Eye," Radios Appear, Trafalgar, 1977

Nirvana, "Scentless Apprentice," In Utero, DGC, 1993

Mudhoney, "Touch Me I'm Sick," Touch Me I'm Sick (Single), Sub Pop, 1988

The Stooges, "Down On The Street (Single Mix)," Down On The Street (Single), Elektra, 1970

Gene Clark, "Some Misunderstanding," No Other, Asylum, 1974

David Bowie, "Heroes," "Heroes", RCA, 1977

2022-08-12
Länk till avsnitt

Didn't I Blow Your Mind This Time? R.I.P. William Hart of the Delfonics

Greg pays tribute to the late singer and songwriter of The Delfonics, William Hart, with his song "Didn't I Blow Your Mind This Time?" from the film Jackie Brown.

 

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-08-10
Länk till avsnitt

Rock on Film, Opinions on Lizzo, Muna & Perfume Genius

This week, hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot discuss the history of music movies with author Fred Goodman. From The Beatles to Metallica, they explore rock on film. Plus, the hosts review new music by Liz, Muna and Perfume Genius.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Lizzo, "Special," Special, Nice Life/Atlantic, 2022

Lizzo, "Grrrls," Special, Nice Life/Atlantic, 2022

Lizzo, "Naked," Special, Nice Life/Atlantic, 2022

Lizzo, "Everybody's Gay," Special, Nice Life/Atlantic, 2022

Perfume Genius, "Pop Song," Ugly Season, Matador, 2022

Perfume Genius, "Hellbent," Ugly Season, Matador, 2022

Perfume Genius, "Eye in the Wall," Ugly Season, Matador, 2022

Lizzo, "About Damn Time," Special, Nice Life/Atlantic, 2022

Muna, "Silk Chiffon (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)," Muna, Saddest Factory, 2022

Muna, "What I Want," Muna, Saddest Factory, 2022

Muna, "Kind of Girl," Muna, Saddest Factory, 2022

The Beatles, "A Hard Day's Night," A Hard Day's Night, United Artists, 1964

Stillwater, "Fever Dog," Almost Famous (Music From the Motion Picture), DreamWorks, 2000

Richard O'Brien, Patricia Quinn, Little Nell, "Time Warp," The Rocky Horror Picture Show, Ode, 1975

Lhasa de Sela, "Love Came Here," Lhasa, Audiogram, 2009

The Stooges, "Down On the Street," Fun House, Elektra, 1970

2022-08-05
Länk till avsnitt

How Did a British Band End Up at a Swedish Bank Robbery?

In this bonus episode, Jim adds a song to the desert island jukebox from a Netflix series about the Swedish criminal Clark Olofsson.

 

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-08-03
Länk till avsnitt

Maybe the Best Buried Treasures Ever? Plus Listener Feedback

Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot share new music that isn't getting the attention it deserves- they call them "buried treasures." The show's staff joins in sharing their picks as well. Plus they listen to recent feedback from listeners.

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Dehd, "Bad Love," Blue Skies, Fat Possum, 2022

Oliana, "Jupiter," Jupiter (Single), Oli x Tooti, 2022

Body Type, "Buoyancy," Everything Is Dangerous But Nothing's Surprising, Poison City, 2022

Taqbir, "Aisha Qandisha," Taqbir EP, self-released, 2021

Momma, "Medicine," Household Name, Polyvinyl, 2022

Mayyadda, "BlackGirlMagic (Acoustic Remix)," BlackGirlMagic (Acoustic Remix) (Single), Mayyadda, 2022

O.N.E. The Duo, "Stuck In The Middle," Stuck In The Middle (Single), Visionary, 2022

Say Sue Me, "To Dream," The Last Thing Left, Damnably, 2022

Hater, "Renew, Reject," Sincere, Fire, 2022

Ethel Cain, "Crush," Inbred, Daughters of Cain, 2021

Holland Patent Public Library, "Joe Pera Sits With You," Joe Pera Talks With You: Season 3 (Original Soundtrack), Adult Swim, 2022

The Who, "Baba O'Riley," Who's Next, Polydor, 1971

The Venomous Pinks, "No Rules," Vita Mors, SBÄM, 2022

Dummy, "Mono Retriever," Mono Retriever (Single), Sub Pop, 2022

Crumb, "Balloon," Ice Melt, Crumb, 2021

Chime School, "It's True," Chime School, Slumberland, 2021

Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings, "What If We All Stopped Paying Taxes," Soul Time!, Daptone, 2011

Trombone Shorty, "I'm Standing Here (feat. Gary Clark Jr.)," Lifted, Blue Note, 2022

Tummyache, "Alive Again," Teeth - Single, Tone Tree Music / You + Me, 2022

The Beatles, "A Hard Day's Night," A Hard Day's Night, Parlophone, 1964

2022-07-29
Länk till avsnitt

Hill Country Blues on the Desert Island

In this bonus episode, Greg adds a Hill Country Blues song to the Desert Island Jukebox that was in a recent movie.

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-07-27
Länk till avsnitt

Wayne's World 30th Anniversary w/ Director Penelope Spheeris, Opinions on Bartees Strange and Yaya Bey

Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot revisit their conversation with director Penelope Spheeris for the 30th anniversary of Wayne?s World. They also discuss directing music videos and the Decline of Western Civilization documentary films. Plus, Jim and Greg review new music from indie artist Bartees Strange and Brooklyn singer-songwriter Yaya Bey.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Bartees Strange, "Mulholland Dr.," Farm to Table, 4AD, 2022

Bartees Strange, "Heavy Heart," Farm to Table, 4AD, 2022

Bartees Strange, "Tours," Farm to Table, 4AD, 2022

Bartees Strange, "Hennessy," Farm to Table, 4AD, 2022

Bartees Strange, "Escape This Circus," Farm to Table, 4AD, 2022

Bartees Strange, "Hold the Line," Farm to Table, 4AD, 2022

Yaya Bey, "keisha," Remember Your North Star, Big Dada, 2022

Yaya Bey, "pour up (feat. DJ Nativesun)," Remember Your North Star, Big Dada, 2022

Yaya Bey, "alright," Remember Your North Star, Big Dada, 2022

Yaya Bey, "i'm certain she's there," Remember Your North Star, Big Dada, 2022

Wayne and Garth, "Wayne's World Theme," Wayne's World (Music from the Motion Picture), Reprise, 1992

Red Hot Chili Peppers, "Sikamikanico," Wayne's World (Music from the Motion Picture), Reprise, 1992

Fear, "I Love Livin' in the City," The Record, Slash, 1981

Circle Jerks, "Red Tape (Live)," Group Sex, Frontier, 1980

Motörhead, "Ace of Spades," Ace of Spades, Sanctuary, 1980

The Germs, "Manimal," Gi, Slash, 1979

Black Flag, "Depression," Damaged, SST, 1981

Meat Loaf, "Bat Out of Hell," Bat Out of Hell, Epic, 1977

Megadeth, "In My Darkest Hour," So Far, So Good... So What!, Capitol, 1988

Special Interest, "(Herman's) House," (Herman's) House (Single), Rough Trade, 2022

2022-07-22
Länk till avsnitt

The Missing Link of Post-Punk Legends

In this bonus episode, Jim shares a track from a bootleg by one of his favorite bands that gives a new way to understand their growth.

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

2022-07-20
Länk till avsnitt

Music Supervisor Susan Jacobs & The Story of Malcolm McLaren After "Pistol"

Susan Jacobs won the first Emmy ever awarded for music supervision. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot talk with Jacobs about her work on "Big Little Lies" and other projects. They also talk with author Paul Gorman about his biography of Malcolm McLaren, the legendary manager of the Sex Pistols.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Joe Tex, "A Woman's Hands," A Woman's Hands (Single), Dial, 1967

Sex Pistols, "Anarchy In the U.K.," Never Mind the Bullocks, Here's the Sex Pistols, Virgin, 1977

Sex Pistols, "God Save the Queen," Never Mind the Bullocks, Here's the Sex Pistols, Virgin, 1977

Sex Pistols, "Pretty Vacant," Never Mind the Bullocks, Here's the Sex Pistols, Virgin, 1977

Bow Wow Wow, "I Want Candy," The Last of the Mohicans, RCA, 1982

Malcolm McLaren, "Buffalo Gals," Duck Rock, Virgin, 1983

Bill Lee, "Nola-Vocals," She's Gotta Have It - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, Antilles, 1991

Public Image Ltd, "Public Image," Public Image: First Issue, Virgin, 1978

Marvin Hamlisch, "Theme From The Swimmer (Send for Me in Summer) / Big Splash," The Swimmer, CBS, 1968

Leon Bridges, "River," Coming Home, Columbia, 2015

Led Zeppelin, "Whole Lotta Love," Led Zeppelin II, Atlantic, 1969

Led Zeppelin, "What Is and What Should Never Be," Led Zeppelin II, Atlantic, 1969

Led Zeppelin, "Thank You," Led Zeppelin II, Atlantic, 1969

Charles Bradley, "Victim of Love (feat. Menahan Street Band)," Victim of Love, Daptone, 2013

Michael Kiwanuka, "Cold Little Heart," Love & Hate, Interscope, 2016

Sylvan Esso, "Come Down," Sylvan Esso, Partisan, 2014

Chicago, "25 or 6 to 4," Chicago, Columbia, 1970

Norman Greenbaum, "Spirit in the Sky," Spirit in the Sky, Reprise, 1969

Dire Straits, "Romeo and Juliet," Making Movies, Warner Bros., 1980

Electric Light Orchestra, "10538 Overture," The Electric Light Orchestra, United Artists, 1971

Simon & Garfunkel, "Mrs. Robinson," The Graduate, Columbia Masterworks, 1968

Harry Nilsson, "Everybody's Talkin'," Aerial Ballet, RCA Victor, 1968

The Acid, "Tumbling Lights," Liminal, Infectious Music, 2014

2022-07-15
Länk till avsnitt

Roe, Kelly and Highland Park: A Heavy News Update

In this bonus episode, Jim is joined by news contributor Althea Legaspi to discuss the music industry's response to the Supreme Court's overturning of Roe vs. Wade, the sentencing of R. Kelly and Robert Chiarito of the New York Times joins to discuss the Highland Park shooter's music connections. 

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

 

2022-07-11
Länk till avsnitt

The Best Albums of 2022 So Far

The year is more than half over, and that means it?s time to share the music we?ve loved the most the last six months. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot reveal their best albums of 2022 so far.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Sharon Van Etten, "Darkness Fades," We've Been Going About This All Wrong, Jagjaguwar, 2022

The Smile, "The Opposite," A Light for Attracting Attention, XL, 2022

The Smile, "You Will Never Work In Television Again," A Light for Attracting Attention, XL, 2022

Pedro The Lion, "First Drumset," Havasu, Polyvinyl, 2022

Saba, "Few Good Things (feat. Black Thought & Erin Allen Kane)," Few Good Things, Saba Pivot, 2022

Spiritualized, "Always Together With You," Everything Was Beautiful, Fat Possum, 2022

K.O.G., "Immigration," Zone 6, Agege (feat. Franz Von & Gyedu-Blay Ambolley), Pura Vida, 2022

K.O.G., "Hewale (Interlude)," Zone 6, Agege (feat. Franz Von & Gyedu-Blay Ambolley), Pura Vida, 2022

K.O.G., "Ebenezer," Zone 6, Agege (feat. Franz Von & Gyedu-Blay Ambolley), Pura Vida, 2022

Jack White, "Eosophobia," Fear of the Dawn, Third Man, 2022

Jack White, "Hi-De-Ho (feat. Q-Tip)," Fear of the Dawn, Third Man, 2022

Charlotte Adigéry and Bolis Pupul, "Thank You," Topical Dancer, Deewee, 2022

Mitski, "That's Your Lamp," Laurel Hell, Dead Oceans, 2022

Mitski, "Love Me More," Laurel Hell, Dead Oceans, 2022

SASAMI, "Say It," Squeeze, Domino, 2022

The Linda Lindas, "Nino," Growing Up, Epitaph, 2022

Sharon Van Etten, "Come Back," We've Been Going About This All Wrong, Jagjaguwar, 2022

Wet Leg, "I Don't Wanna Go Out," Wet Leg, Domino, 2022

The Sex Pistols, "Anarchy In the U.K.," Never Mind the Bollocks, Here's the Sex Pistols, Virgin, 1977

2022-07-08
Länk till avsnitt

A Youthful Hit From 40 Years Ago

In this bonus episode, Jim adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox that was a top ten hit in the U.S. in 1983 and included some pre-teen members. 

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

2022-07-06
Länk till avsnitt

Yola, Opinions on Angel Olsen & RIP Chrissie Dickinson

Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot revisit their interview with British singer Yola, who is in the new Elvis film playing Sister Rosetta Tharpe. Plus they review the new album from Angel Olsen and pay tribute to music writer Chrissie Dickinson.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Angel Olsen, "Big Time," Big Time, Jagjaguwar, 2022

Angel Olsen, "All The Good Times," Big Time, Jagjaguwar, 2022

Angel Olsen, "Right Now," Big Time, Jagjaguwar, 2022

Sharon Van Etten and Angel Olsen, "Like I Used To," Like I Used To (Single), Jagjaguwar, 2021

Angel Olsen, "Dream Thing," Big Time, Jagjaguwar, 2022

Angel Olsen, "Go Home," Big Time, Jagjaguwar, 2022

Angel Olsen, "Through The Fires," Big Time, Jagjaguwar, 2022

Yola, "Starlight," Stand For Myself, Easy Eye Sound, 2021

The Highwomen, "Highwomen," The Highwomen, Elektra, 2019

The Staple Singers, "Hear My Call, Here," Hammer And Nails, Riverside, 1962

Massive Attack, "Harpsicord (Live in Copenhagen)," Unreleased, NA, 2008

Phantom Limb, "Draw the Line," Phantom Limb, Naim Edge, 2009

Yola, "Break The Bough," Stand For Myself, Easy Eye Sound, 2021

Yola , "Stand For Myself," Stand For Myself, Easy Eye Sound, 2021

Yola, "Diamond Studded Shoes," Stand For Myself, Easy Eye Sound, 2021

Miranda Lambert, "Gunpowder & Lead," Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, Columbia Nashville, 2007

Wet Leg, "Chaise Longue," Wet Leg, Domino, 2022

2022-07-01
Länk till avsnitt

When Your Best Song is a B-Side

In this bonus episode, Greg adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox whose author didn't like it much initially, but has come around in recent years. 

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

2022-06-29
Länk till avsnitt

John Doe & X's Under the Big Black Sun 40 Years Later

In 1982, the Los Angeles punk rock band X put out its album Under the Big Black Sun. 40 years later, it's still great! Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot talk with X vocalist and bassist John Doe all about the album and the band's impact. They'll also chat with him about his new solo album and his work in television and film. 

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

X, "The Have Nots," Under the Big Black Sun, Elektra, 1982

X, "The Hungry Wolf," Under the Big Black Sun, Elektra, 1982

Bob Dylan, "As I Went Out One Morning," John Wesley Harding, Columbia, 1967

John Doe, "Never Coming Back," Fables in a Foreign Land, Fat Possum, 2022

X, "Riding with Mary," Under the Big Black Sun, Elektra, 1982

X, "Motel Room in My Bed," Under the Big Black Sun, Elektra, 1982

Germs, "Lexicon Devil," (GI), Slash, 1979

The Screamers, "122 Hours Of Fear (Live at the Target)," Live in San Francisco: Sept 2nd 1978, Target Video, 2004

The Dils, "I Hate the Rich," I Hate the Rich (Single), What?, 1977

Circle Jerks, "Stars and Stripes," Wild in the Streets, Step-Forward, 1982

X, "Los Angeles," Los Angeles, Slash, 1980

X, "We're Desperate," Wild Gift, Slash, 1981

X, "Under the Big Black Sun," Under the Big Black Sun, Elektra, 1982

X, "Adult Books," Wild Gift, Slash, 1981

X, "Dancing with Tears in My Eyes," Under the Big Black Sun, Elektra, 1982

X, "Because I Do," Under the Big Black Sun, Elektra, 1982

X, "Blue Spark," Under the Big Black Sun, Elektra, 1982

X, "Come Back to Me," Under the Big Black Sun, Elektra, 1982

X, "Real Child of Hell," Under the Big Black Sun, Elektra, 1982

The Gun Club, "She's Like Heroin to Me," Fire of Love, Ruby, 1981

Los Lobos, "Will the Wolf Survive?," How Will the Wolf Survive?, Slash/Warner Bros., 1984

The Del Fuegos, "Don't Run Wild," Boston, Mass., Slash, 1985

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, "Henry Lee (feat. PJ Harvey) ," Murder Ballads, Mute, 1996

Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan, "Revolver," Ballad of the Broken Seas, Cooking Vinyl Limited, 2006

Yola, "Stand For Myself," Stand For Myself, Easy Eye and Concord, 2021

2022-06-24
Länk till avsnitt

A 1985 Single Hits Number 1

In this bonus episode, Jim adds an incredible song to the Desert Island Jukebox that has surfaced on a few soundtracks in recent years. 

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

2022-06-22
Länk till avsnitt

Dean Wareham (Galaxie 500) on the Five Albums That Shaped Him

As the leader of Galaxie 500 and Luna, Dean Wareham is an indie rock legend. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot talk with Wareham about five albums that shaped his music over the course of his career.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Galaxie 500, "Tugboat," Today, Aurora, 1988

Dean Wareham, "Cashing In," I Have Nothing To Say To The Mayor Of L.A., Double Feature, 2021

Velvet Underground, "Waiting For My Man (Live)," 1969 Velvet Underground Live With Lou Reed, Mercury, 1974

Velvet Underground, "What Goes On (Live)," 1969 Velvet Underground Live With Lou Reed, Mercury, 1974

Velvet Underground, "Friends," Squeeze, Polydor, 1972

Velvet Underground, "Over You (Live)," 1969 Velvet Underground Live With Lou Reed, Mercury, 1974

Lene Lovich, "Bird Song," Flex, Stiff, 1979

The Feelies, "The Boy With the Perpetual Nervousness," Crazy Rhythms, Stiff, 1980

The Feelies, "Crazy Rhythms (Live)," Unreleased, NA, 1986

The Feelies, "Loveless Love," Crazy Rhythms, Stiff, 1980

The Clash, "The Magnificent Seven," Sandinista!, CBS, 1980

The Clash, "Lose This Skin," Sandinista!, CBS, 1980

The Clash, "Career Opportunities," Sandinista!, CBS, 1980

The Clash, "Garageland," The Clash, Epic, 1979

Galaxie 500, "Don't Let Our Youth Go To Waste," Today, Aurora, 1988

Modern Lovers, "Don't Let Our Youth Go To Waste," The Original Modern Lovers, BOMP, 1981

Dean Wareham, "The Past Is Our Plaything," I Have Nothing To Say To The Mayor Of L.A., Double Feature, 2021

Jonathan Richman and the Modern Lovers, "Chewing Gum Wrapper," Rockin' And Romance, Twin/Tone, 1985

Jonathan Richman and the Modern Lovers, "The Baltimores," Rockin' And Romance, Twin/Tone, 1985

Luna, "Moon Palace," Penthouse, Elektra, 1995

Jonathan Richman and the Modern Lovers, "Down In Bermuda," Rockin' And Romance, Twin/Tone, 1985

Jonathan Richman and the Modern Lovers, "I Must Be King," Rockin' And Romance, Twin/Tone, 1985

New Order, "Dreams Never End," Movement, Factory, 1981

New Order, "Dreams Never End (Live)," Unreleased, NA, 1981

New Order, "Temptation 12"," (Single), Factory, 1982

Howard, "Falling," Religion, Fashion People, 2015

Andy White, "Religious Persuasion," Rave On Andy White, Stiff, 1986

Men At Work, "Who Can It Be Now?," Business As Usual, Columbia, 1981

Velvet Underground, "Who Loves The Sun," Loaded, Cotillion, 1970

Old 97's, "Barrier Reef," Too Far To Care, Elektra, 1997

X, "The Hungry Wolf," Under The Big Black Sun, Elektra, 1982

2022-06-17
Länk till avsnitt

The Winners of the Sound Opinions Prize

In this bonus episode, Jim interviews two of the winners of the first annual Sound Opinions Arts Criticism Prize. 

The scholarship was awarded to three Columbia College Chicago students in the Professional Writing Program in the Department of English and Creative Writing: (read winning reviews at these links) 

Connor Salata, for a theater review written for Lloyd Sach's Reviewing the Arts class

Hallie Newnam, for a music review in Jim's Reviewing the Arts Honors class

Nick Vazquez, for a music review in Jim's Reviewing the Arts Honors class

For this episode, Jim spoke with Hallie and Nick about the reviews that won them the prize. 

Thanks to The Goldschmidt Foundation for funding the Sound Opinions Prize.

Become a member on Patreon: bit.ly/3slWZvc

 Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: bit.ly/3sivr9T

2022-06-15
Länk till avsnitt

Aimee Mann on the Five Albums That Shaped Her

Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot are big fans of Aimee Mann?s songwriting, so they?ve asked her to choose five albums that shaped her artistic outlook. She shares those albums and what they meant to her at different points in her life on this episode.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Aimee Mann, "Save Me," Magnolia (Music From the Motion Picture), Warner Music, 1999

Neil Young, "Heart of Gold," Harvest, Reprise, 1972

Neil Young, "A Man Needs A Maid," Harvest, Reprise, 1972

Neil Young, "Are You Ready For The Country," Harvest, Reprise, 1972

Neil Young, "The Needle and the Damage Done," Harvest, Reprise, 1972

Aimee Mann, "Burn It Out," Queens of the Summer Hotel, SuperEgo, 2021

Neil Young, "Old Man," Harvest, Reprise, 1972

Neil Young, "Alabama," Harvest, Reprise, 1972

Steely Dan, "Do It Again," Can't Buy A Thrill, ABC, 1972

Steely Dan, "Only a Fool Would Say That," Can't Buy A Thrill, ABC, 1972

Steely Dan, "Reelin' In the Years," Can't Buy A Thrill, ABC, 1972

Steely Dan, "Dirty Work," Can't Buy A Thrill, ABC, 1972

Steely Dan, "The Boston Rag," Countdown to Ecstasy, ABC, 1973

Elvis Costello And The Attractions, "Beyond Belief," Imperial Bedroom, Columbia, 1982

Elvis Costello And The Attractions, "Almost Blue," Imperial Bedroom, Columbia, 1982

Elvis Costello And The Attractions, "...And In Every Home," Imperial Bedroom, Columbia, 1982

Elvis Costello And The Brodsky Quartet, "I Thought I'd Write to Juliet," The Juliet Letters, Warner Bros, 1993

The Young Snakes, "Not Enough," Bark Along With The Young Snakes, Ambiguous, 1982

Aimee Mann, "At The Frick Museum," Queens of the Summer Hotel, SuperEgo, 2021

The Loud Family, "Sword Swallower," Plants and Birds and Rocks and Things, Alias, 1993

The Loud Family, "Inverness," Plants and Birds and Rocks and Things, Alias, 1993

Aimee Mann, "Fifty Years After the Fair," Whatever, Imago, 1993

Game Theory, "Regenisraen," The Big Shot Chronicles, Enigma, 1986

The Loud Family, "Slit My Wrists," Plants and Birds and Rocks and Things, Alias, 1993

The Loud Family, "Jimmy Still Comes Around," Plants and Birds and Rocks and Things, Alias, 1993

Elliott Smith, "Waltz, No. 2 (XO)," XO, Dreamworks, 1998

Elliott Smith, "Sweet Adeline," XO, Dreamworks, 1998

Aimee Mann, "Suicide Is Murder," Queens of the Summer Hotel, SuperEgo, 2021

Devo, "Whip It," Freedom of Choice, Warner, 1980

Devo, "Uncontrollable Urge," Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo!, Warner, 1978

Wilco, "Ashes of American Flags," Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, Nonesuch, 2001

Motorcade, "Static," See You In the Nothing, IDOL, 2022

Galaxie 500, "Tugboat," Today, Aurora, 1988

2022-06-10
Länk till avsnitt

A DIY Duo Brings The Dunedin Sound to the DIJ

In this bonus episode, Greg adds a song to the Desert Island Jukebox from the New Zealand band Tall Dwarfs. 

Become a member on Patreon: bit.ly/3slWZvc

 Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: bit.ly/3sivr9T

2022-06-08
Länk till avsnitt

Songs That Pose Questions, Plus Opinions on Kendrick Lamar & Florence + The Machine

From "Who Let The Dogs Out?" to "Where Have All The Flowers Gone?", all sorts of songs ask questions. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot are joined by production staff to share their favorite question songs. Plus Jim and Greg review new albums by Kendrick Lamar and Florence + The Machine.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

Kendrick Lamar, "United in Grief," Mr. Morale and the Big Steppers, Top Dawg Entertainment, 2022

Kendrick Lamar, "Mirror," Mr. Morale and the Big Steppers, Top Dawg Entertainment, 2022

Kendrick Lamar, "Auntie Diaries," Mr. Morale and the Big Steppers, Top Dawg Entertainment, 2022

Kendrick Lamar, "Mother I Sober (feat. Beth Gibbons)," Mr. Morale and the Big Steppers, Top Dawg Entertainment, 2022

Kendrick Lamar, "We Cry Together," Mr. Morale and the Big Steppers, Top Dawg Entertainment, 2022

Florence + The Machine, "King," Dance Fever, Polydor, 2022

Florence + The Machine, "Free," Dance Fever, Polydor, 2022

Florence + The Machine, "Girls Against God," Dance Fever, Polydor, 2022

The Shirelles, "Will You (Still) Love Me Tomorrow," Tonight's the Night, Scepter, 1960

Barry Mann, "Who Put the Bomp," Who Put The Bomp, ABC, 1961

Tubeway Army, "Are 'Friends' Electric?," Replicas Redux, Atco, 1979

Baha Men, "Who Let the Dogs Out," Who Let the Dogs Out, S-Curve, 2000

Pixies, "Where is My Mind?," Surfer Rosa, 4AD, 1988

The Clash, "Should I Stay or Should I Go," Combat Rock, Epic, 1982

Rina Sawayama, "Who's Gonna Save U Now," SAWAYAMA, Dirty Hit, 2020

Elvis Costello and the Attractions, "(What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love, and Understanding," Armed Forces, Radar, 1979

Dolly Parton, "Why'd You Come In Here Lookin' Like That," White Limozeen, Columbia, 1989

The Chi-Lites, "Have You Seen Her," (For God's Sake) Give More Power to the People, Brunswick, 1971

A Tribe Called Quest, "Can I Kick It?," People's Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm, Jive, 1990

Tupac Shakur, Mos Def, "Can U C the Pride In the Panther," The Rose That Grew From Concrete Volume 1, Interscope, 2000

Pulp, "Do You Remember the First Time?," His 'n' Hers, Island, 1994

R.E.M., "What's the Frequency, Kenneth?," Monster, Warner, 1994

Aimee Mann, "Red Vines," Bachelor No. 2 (Or, the Last Remains of the Dodo), Superego, 1999

2022-06-03
Länk till avsnitt

From College Radio and Art Rock to Hootie and the Blowfish

In this bonus episode, Jim has an epic interview with his old friend Tim Sommer about his unbelievable life in the music industry. From his punk rock college radio days on WNYU to his art rock band Hugo Largo to working for Warner Bros in A&R and signing Hootie and the Blowfish, they cover it all. Sommer has a new book out about his experiences called "Only Wanna Be With You."

Become a member on Patreon: bit.ly/3slWZvc

 Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: bit.ly/3sivr9T

2022-06-01
Länk till avsnitt

Exile on Main St. 50th Anniversary

For the 50th anniversary of Exile on Main St., hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot do a classic album dissection of the iconic Rolling Stones record. They tell the story of the album?s recording, analyze the songs and reflect on its lasting musical impact.

 

Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9T

Become a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvc

Sign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnG

Make a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lU

Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

 

Featured Songs:

The Rolling Stones, "Soul Survivor," Exile on Main St., Rolling Stones, 1972

The Rolling Stones, "All Down the Line," Exile on Main St., Rolling Stones, 1972

The Rolling Stones, "Wild Horses," Sticky Fingers, Rolling Stones, 1971

The Rolling Stones, "Ventilator Blues," Exile on Main St., Rolling Stones, 1972

The Rolling Stones, "Rocks Off," Exile on Main St., Rolling Stones, 1972

The Rolling Stones, "Rip This Joint," Exile on Main St., Rolling Stones, 1972

The Rolling Stones, "Tumbling Dice," Exile on Main St., Rolling Stones, 1972

The Flying Burrito Brothers, "Sin City," The Gilded Palace of Sin, A&M, 1969

The Byrds, "You Ain't Goin Nowhere," Sweetheart of the Rodeo, Columbia, 1968

The Everly Brothers, "All I Have to Do is Dream," All I Have to Do is Dream (Single), Cadence, 1958

The Rolling Stones, "Torn and Frayed," Exile on Main St., Rolling Stones, 1972

The Rolling Stones, "Happy," Exile on Main St., Rolling Stones, 1972

The Rolling Stones, "Title 5," Exile on Main St. (Deluxe Edition), Universal, 2010

The Rolling Stones, "Sympathy For The Devil (Live)," Beggars Banquet, Rolling Stones, 1968

The Rolling Stones, "I Just Want To See His Face," Exile on Main St., Rolling Stones, 1972

James Cleveland & the Angelic Choir, "Peace Be Still," Peace Be Still , Savoy, 1963

The Rolling Stones, "Let It Loose," Exile on Main St., Rolling Stones, 1972

The Rolling Stones, "Sweet Black Angel," Exile on Main St., Rolling Stones, 1972

The Rolling Stones, "Shine A Light," Exile on Main St., Rolling Stones, 1972

The Rolling Stones, "Loving Cup," Exile on Main St., Rolling Stones, 1972

The Band, "In a Station," Music From Big Pink, Capitol, 1968

The Rolling Stones, "Stop Breaking Down," Exile on Main St., Rolling Stones, 1972

Pussy Galore, "Loving Cup," Exile on Main St., Shove, 1986

White Stripes, "Rag & Bone," Icky Thump, Warner Bros., 2007

Liz Phair, "Johnny Sunshine," Exile in Guyville, Matador, 1993

Red Red Meat, "Rusted Water," Jimmywine Majestic, Sub Pop, 1993

New York Dolls, "Trash," New York Dolls, Mercury, 1973

The Clash, "Death or Glory," London Calling, CBS, 1979

Wilco, "Monday," Being There, Reprise, 1996

Kings of Leon, "Taper Jean Girl," Aha Shake Heartbreak, Columbia, 2004

The Black Keys, "Do the Rump," The Big Come Up, Alive , 2002

The Rolling Stones, "Shake Your Hips," Exile on Main St., Rolling Stones, 1972

The Lovin' Spoonful, "Do You Believe in Magic," Do You Believe in Magic, Kama Sutra, 1965

2022-05-27
Länk till avsnitt

An Interview with Painter Steve Keene

In this bonus episode, Jim talks with visual artist Steve Keene about his new book "The Steve Keene Art Book" and the album covers he painted for Pavement, Apples In Stereo and Silver Jews.

Become a member on Patreon: bit.ly/3slWZvc

 Send us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops

Join our Facebook Group: bit.ly/3sivr9T

2022-05-25
Länk till avsnitt
Hur lyssnar man på podcast?

En liten tjänst av I'm With Friends. Finns även på engelska.
Uppdateras med hjälp från iTunes.